Congress sets up committee to deal with issues of delimitation in J&K

Jammu and Kashmir unit of the Congress on Sunday declared a 10-member committee to take care of the problems of proposed delimitation of assembly constituencies in the Union Territory.

Former minister Peerzada Mohammad Sayeed was appointed as chairman of the committee and the members included former deputy chief minister Tara Chand, ex-MP Madan Lal Sharma, former ministers Taj Mohiuddin, R S Chib and M S Niaz, along with former legislators Ravinder Sharma along with A S Micky.

“The committee will keep track of things on the various aspects of the topic (delimitation practice ) and direct the celebration in the matter from time to time,” Pradesh Congress Committee president A Mir said.

He said the sub-committee would likewise be constituted to frequently deliberate on different technical areas of the issue.

Also Read

Sports Minister Remove salary cap of Rs 2 lakhs for Indian coaches training elite athletes.

Back in March, the Centre constituted a Delimitation Commission, to be led by former Supreme Court judge Ranjana Prakash Desai, to redraw Lok Sabha and assembly constituencies of the Union Territory.

Based on Section 60 of the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act,”. . .the number of seats in the Legislative Assembly of Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir shall be increased by 107 to 114…”

Out of these, 24 chairs are in Pakistan-occupied Kashmir. So effectively, the seats will go up in 83 to 90, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora had explained when colleagues had asked him concerning the delimitation process in Jammu and Kashmir.

The Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir came into being on October 31, 2019 following the nation has been reorganised and bifurcated into UTs, Ladakh function as another.

Also Read

Mizoram postpones the schools for 2023-21 academic session

Earlier in Maythe National Conference refused the delimitation process, saying its MPs will not take part in the exercise as the celebration is reluctant to take the events of last year”s August 5.

“The delimitation commission is now a product of this J&K Reorganization Act 2019, and the party is tough in and out of Supreme Court. Launched in this Delimitation Commission is going to probably be tantamount to accepting that the occasions of 5th August 2019 that the NC is unwilling to perform,” the party had said, speaking to the nullification of Article 370 and bifurcation of Jammu and Kashmir to Union territories by the Centre.

All five Lok Sabha MPs from Jammu and Kashmir — three from your NC and two from the BJP — were nominated as”associate members” of the Delimitation Commission to help the panel in redrawing parliamentary and assembly constituencies in the Union Territory.

According to the Constitution of J-K, the NC explained the constituencies of this erstwhile country were to be delimited from 2026 with the remainder of the nation.

Also Read

Tourists can stays only in registered hotels with pre-booking in Goa

“The constituencies from the country were last delimited in the 1990s. Subsequently an amendment was made in the Constitution of J&K unanimously passed at the state Assembly in which all of the regional parties, both Congress and BJP, voted for this change to go with the delimitation with the rest of the nation in 2026. Therefore, the ministry of this delimitation commission is unwarranted,” the party had said.

Compare items
  • Total (0)